Film Score Monthly
Search Terms: 
Search Within:   search tips 
You must log in or register to post.
  Go to page:    
 Posted:   Apr 25, 2024 - 7:56 AM   
 By:   Justin Boggan   (Member)

 Posted:   Apr 25, 2024 - 8:11 AM   
 By:   Hurdy Gurdy   (Member)

THE JIM DOOLEY COLLECTION, VOLUME 1 opens with music from an industrial film Dooley was hired to score for Mercedes-Benz, entitled ‘The Mercedes-Benz Axor. The industrial film was meant to be used for promotional purposes and featured shots of the truck in question.

The hit television series COSMOS based on the writings of author Carl Sagan was successfully rebooted in 2014 by Seth MacFarlane, Brannon Braga, Mitchell Cannold and Ann Druyan, featuring astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson as the host. When COSMOS went into production, two composers were brought in to pen scores for each episode—one of them was Jim Dooley who was tasked to produce a series of themes that best demonstrated his proposed prescription to scoring the series. His demos were a huge hit with the producers. However, there was one alarming issue. The composer was already temporarily employed by the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Baily Circus, preventing Dooley from accepting a role as composer for Cosmos. His demos for COSMOS are presented on this album for the very first time.

Also included on this album are a smattering of rare tracks from obscure projects early in Dooley’s career. UNTITLED: 003-EMBRYO was a short film directed by Mike Goedecke. The plot centers around a certified agoraphobic who receives a wooden box with items inside and promise to fulfill his deepest fantasies if he feeds five dreams to a grotesque creature stored within the machine. The entire score is presented here.

A collection of cues from the made-for-television sci-fi comedy AREA 52 appear next. AREA 52 was directed by Dooley’s college friend Adam Turner and starred Fred Savage. The plot revolved around a group of rag-tag government agents not good enough to guard Area 51 so they are assigned to the lesser Area 52. Hilarity ensues when they stumble into a legit mission requiring their services to help save the world.

The final selection on the album is the entire orchestral score for Dreamworks’ animated short film FIRST FLIGHT about a fastidiously organized businessman whose perspective on life is forever changed through an unexpected encounter with a fledgling bird.

Jim Dooley is an Emmy Award-winning composer/songwriter with a diverse repertoire spanning the film, television, video gaming and live theatrical industries.  He has earned accolades for his solo work as well as proud collaborations with many of the top names in music, from Hans Zimmer, Kristin Chenoweth to Babyface. Dooley is a graduate of New York University and upon completion of his degree moved to Los Angeles to study the art of film composing at USC in the SMPTV program with prolific scoring legends Christopher Young, Elmer Bernstein and Leonard Rosenman. He joined Media Ventures (now known as Remote Control Productions) in 1999 and collaborated with Hans Zimmer on THE DA VINCI CODE, PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: THE CURSE OF THE BLACK PEARL, THE RING and many others. Dooley is currently the composer of the hit CW show WALKER
Dragon’s Domain Records presents THE JIM DOOLEY COLLECTION, VOLUME 1, featuring music composed by Jim Dooley, appearing for the very first time on compact disc. The music has been mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland and the liner notes have been written by author and composer Brian Satterwhite, with the participation of the composer.

THE JIM DOOLEY COLLECTION, VOLUME 1 is presented as a disc-on-demand release.

THE JIM DOOLEY COLLECTION, VOLUME 1 is expected to begin shipping the week of May 13th, 2024 and can be ordered at

The first 50 copies sold through the website will include a booklet autographed by composer Jim Dooley.

01. The Mercedes-Benz Axor (6:49)
From The Promotional Video
02. Looking At The Stars (4:00)
03. Starscape (4:08)
04. Beyond The Solar System (1:51)
05. Solar Winds (3:25)
06. Europa (2:05)
07. The Void (2:12)
08. The Martian Landscape (2:38)
09. The Outer Planets (2:17)
10. The Asteroid Belt (2:13)
11. Suite From EMBRYO (12:39)
12. Opening / Dante’s Friends / First Mission (3:55)
13. First Cable / Haps Discovered (3:30)
14. Chase Dropped Off / Haps Tire Yard / Return / Van Hangar (1:51)
15. Return / End Credits (3:52)
16. Suite From FIRST FLIGHT (8:31)
Total Time - 66:40

 Posted:   Jun 4, 2024 - 6:13 PM   
 By:   Ford A. Thaxton   (Member)

Just a friendly bump for this title.

It's really a good release from a very talented and underrated composer.

Ford A. Thaxton

You must log in or register to post.
  Go to page:    
© 2024 Film Score Monthly. All Rights Reserved.
Website maintained and powered by Veraprise and Matrimont.