Film Score Monthly
FSM HOME MESSAGE BOARD FSM CDs FSM ONLINE RESOURCES FUN STUFF ABOUT US  SEARCH FSM   
Search Terms: 
Search Within:   search tips 
You must log in or register to post.
  Go to page:    
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 8:16 AM   
 By:   orion_mk3   (Member)

It's that time again: studios have put up promotional sites with full scores in hopes of landing Oscar noms. Scores that differ greatly from their commercial albums (or have no current album release) are in bold.

Disney
Frozen (Christophe Beck) [one song] - http://waltdisneystudiosawards.com/#/frozen/music
Monsters University (Randy Newman) [one song] - http://waltdisneystudiosawards.com/#/monsters-university/music
Saving Mr. Banks (Thomas Newman) [one song] - http://waltdisneystudiosawards.com/#/saving-mr-banks/music

Dreamworks
The Croods (Alan Silvestri) - http://www.dwaawards.com/score/

Focus Features
The Place Beyond the Pines (Mike Patton) - http://focusguilds2013.com/film/the-place-beyond-the-pines/
We Steal Secrets (Will Bates) - http://focusguilds2013.com/film/we-steal-secrets/

Fox Searchlight
Enough Said (Marcello Zarvos) - http://www.foxsearchlight.com/fyc/film/enough-said/soundtrack/
12 Years A Slave (Hans Zimmer et al.) - http://www.foxsearchlight.com/fyc/film/12-years-a-slave/soundtrack/

Paramount
Labor Day (Rolfe Kent) - http://www.paramountguilds.com/labor-day/#url=score
Nebraska (Mark Orton) - http://www.paramountguilds.com/nebraska/#url=score
The Wolf of Wall Street (songtrack) - http://www.paramountguilds.com/the-wolf-of-wall-street/#url=soundtrack

Universal
Despicable Me [excerpts only] (Heitor Periera) - http://www.universalpicturesawards.com/main/title/despicableMe2
Oblivion [excerpts only] (M83) - http://www.universalpicturesawards.com/main/title/oblivion
Rush [excerpts only] (Hans Zimmer et al.) - http://www.universalpicturesawards.com/main/title/rush

Warner Bros.
Gravity (Stephen Price) - http://www.warnerbros2013.com/bafta/film.php?film=gravity#
The Great Gatsby [excerpts only] (Craig Armstrong) - http://www.warnerbros2013.com/bafta/film.php?film=gatsby#
Prisoners (Johann Johannsson) - http://www.warnerbros2013.com/film.php?film=prisoners#

The Weinstein Company
August: Osage County (Gustavo Santaolalla) [excerpts only?] - http://twcguilds.com/#!/august-osage-county/music
The Butler (Rodrigo Leão) - http://twcguilds.com/#!/lee-daniels-the-butler/music
Fruitvale Station (Ludwig Goransson) [same as CD but missing final score track] - http://twcguilds.com/#!/fruitvale-station/music
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom (Alex Heffes) - http://twcguilds.com/#!/mandela-long-walk-to-freedom/music
One Chance (Theodore Shapiro) - http://twcguilds.com/#!/one-chance/music
Philomena (Alexandre Desplat) - http://twcguilds.com/#!/philomena/music

A rather paltry list this year, but chock full of scores by lesser-known composers that are not available commercially. As always, post any additions and I will add them.

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 8:33 AM   
 By:   Jason LeBlanc   (Member)

There are more sites available:

http://www.jwfan.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=23886

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 8:47 AM   
 By:   orion_mk3   (Member)

There are more sites available:

http://www.jwfan.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=23886


Thanks, but I already checked all those other sites, and none of them have any music or just a single song. The rest say "coming soon," but bitter experience has taught me that those are never added after the actual Oscar nominations come out.

But if any of them actually do add some music, I'll be sure to put it up here smile

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 9:01 AM   
 By:   Michael_McMahan   (Member)

Awesome! I can finally listen to "Boat Trip To New Orleans" from 12 Years A Slave. Thanks for the link.

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 9:07 AM   
 By:   TM   (Member)

There are more sites available:

http://www.jwfan.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=23886


Thanks, but I already checked all those other sites, and none of them have any music or just a single song. The rest say "coming soon," but bitter experience has taught me that those are never added after the actual Oscar nominations come out.

But if any of them actually do add some music, I'll be sure to put it up here smile


Disney and Weinstein have both had music up for months now. Complete score to Philomena by Desplat is there...

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 11:26 AM   
 By:   orion_mk3   (Member)

Huh. Well, mea culpa for thinking disneystudiosawards.com and waltdisneystudiosawards.com or twcguilds.com and twcawards.com were the same thing when they actually lead to totally different FYC sites, one with music and the other without!

List is updated in any event.

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 2:02 PM   
 By:   TM   (Member)

Huh. Well, mea culpa for thinking disneystudiosawards.com and waltdisneystudiosawards.com or twcguilds.com and twcawards.com were the same thing when they actually lead to totally different FYC sites, one with music and the other without!

List is updated in any event.


Yeah it gets kind of frustrating...

 
 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 3:08 PM   
 By:   Per   (Member)

Does the Enough Said (Marcelo Zarvos) really differ any from the official release ? ... haven't really compared all the tracks, but it seems to be the same total tracks anyway.

And while The Great Gatsby (Craig Armstrong) is obviously just selected cues (not the full thing), I guess it's different than what's on the official release... or ?

Have no idea about this, but is the tracks available from August: Osage County (Gustavo Santaolalla) also any different, or are all tracks already on, or within, the tracks on the official release ?

 
 Posted:   Jan 16, 2014 - 8:37 PM   
 By:   orion_mk3   (Member)

Most of these are just my best guesses, and I erred on the side of bolding stuff when I wasn't sure.

 
You must log in or register to post.
  Go to page:    
© 2014 Film Score Monthly. All Rights Reserved.